Day 5 – 25 To Go

My headache is finally gone but I’m craving sugar like crazy. It’s almost all I think about and you aren’t even supposed to eat fruit to help with the craving. They say, you have to push through it. Luckily it’s getting close to bedtime and I can quit thinking about it.

The last 5 days have gone by slow and fast at the same time. In one way, it seems like I’ve been eating this way forever and I can’t wait for it to end and then it’s hard to believe 5 days are already up. Today was weird because work closed early due to possible winter weather so I’ve been sitting here all day thinking about food. It got to be supper time and I couldn’t think of anything I would want. We decided on leftovers.

So for breakfast I had the sweet potato hash, bacon and 1/2 of a banana. Lunch was leftovers from last night, hobo burger, mashed potatoes and green beans. As I said, we decided on leftovers for supper but I didn’t feel like cooking a vegetable. I ended up eating some leftover chicken (which was still delicious) and some Tostones (fried plantains). Oh, and I also had a cup of Arbonne detox tea. I added some cashew milk but I don’t think it added much to the flavor. It was good though on this cold night.

To make Tostones, you are supposed to boil the green plantains until they are tender and then you cut thick slices and squish them. You then place in the hot oil and fry on each side about 2 minutes. Mine just fell apart when I squished them so I’m not sure if I overcooked or undercooked. I got better results by making a ball like cookie dough and then squishing. I finally asked myself why they had to be squished and not simply cut into thin slices. They were very crisp and a different texture almost. I dipped them in some guacamole and they were actually quite good. I’ll try it again but next time I won’t boil them and I will slice thinly. The recipe I found said to cut them lengthwise.

I’m looking forward to trying something different for breakfast tomorrow. I just have to decide what that will be!

Leave a Reply

