Day 14 – 16 To Go

Tomorrow will be the halfway point of this journey I’m on. Just two more weeks left. I haven’t hated every second but I don’t love it either. The book says this is not hard. Fighting cancer is hard. And that is so true. But this isn’t a cake walk either. Finding variety and staying compliant isn’t easy. Staying off the scale isn’t easy. Eating out is pure misery! I’m just praying that I start seeing more of those non-scale victories.

The biggest NSV I would like to see is not feeling so tired all the time. If only people knew just how tired I am ALL the time! The last time I saw my pulmonologist, he ordered a pulsox for me. That was back in the fall. I got it in the mail and used it and he later called to say it was borderline and that he’d like to do it again. I finally got it on Friday but didn’t use it until last night. In the middle of the night, I woke up to go to the bathroom and I immediately looked at it. My O2 level was at 65. It should be between 95 and 100. I saw one of my nurse friends today and asked her about it and she said if I were in the hospital, I would have been put on a ventilator and that brain damage can occur at that level. I did wake up with a headache this morning so to say I’m alarmed is putting it mildly. I think it’s awfully strange that I was only borderline back in the fall, I weighed more and was eating a lot of foods that cause inflammation and pulmonary issues. I’m wondering if it’s so low because I’m still getting over my bronchitis that I got on December 17 (it always takes me longer to get well because of my asthma). I’ll be calling the doctor tomorrow to see if he wants me to try again later or what. I hope he doesn’t want me to go for another sleep study. I just need to let him know I will not wear a c-pap and to come up with plan B.

For breakfast I had bacon and sauteed apples and pecans. For lunch we ate out and I had a very bland steak and a sweet potato. I did not plan ahead or I could have had a regular potato with ghee and a salad with my own dressing. Actually, I did think of those things but then forgot. For supper, we had grilled boneless/skinless chicken thighs with sweet potato fries and asparagus. Yep, same as last night but this time, the fries weren’t burned and I wrapped bacon around my asparagus. It was sooo good. My stomach felt very “tight” and not quite like a brick but not normal. After reading up on my above situation I now wonder if potatoes could be one of my issues. I’m going to get through this and maybe try omitting potatoes and see what happens.

Looking forward to tomorrow!

 

 

Leave a Reply

