Day 30 – 0 To Go

I did it! I stuck to the most rigid diet I’ve ever been on FOR 30 DAYS. That’s 90 meals with no sugar (artificial or real), dairy, soy, legumes, alcohol, grains or anything processed or made using compliant ingredients (ie: pancakes). Add to that, I also did not have foods that came up as being possible allergens for me. Those included eggs, garlic, spinach, almonds, coconut, sesame seeds, walnuts, also dairy and gluten, and I’m sure I’m forgetting other things but isn’t that enough?

I’ve mentioned this before but in the book it says this is not hard. It says beating cancer is hard. It’s true, I know. But this was still a challenge. I thought about when I quit smoking. Now that was hard. It’s said the addiction is like heroin. Not sure if that’s true but when I describe to people what it was like when I quit smoking, the best way I can describe it is that it hurt. I still crave a cigarette every now and then but I know if I tried to smoke one here and there, I would be back as a full time smoker in no time. My health now suffers because of smoking cigarettes so I’ll never do that. But food is the same thing for me. I quit smoking a thousand times and started back 999 times. I need to have the same attitude toward food as I do with cigarettes. It was doing my body harm and I need to give up those foods that do the most harm. I will learn to eat some of the things I love using alternative ingredients and I’ll keep trying until I have my favorites. I have to. I want to.

For my last breakfast on Whole30, I had bacon and the leftover hashbrowns that I didn’t get to have yesterday. Leftover spaghetting and riced cauliflower for lunch. For supper I sauteed some peppers and onions in olive oil and then added some shrimp. After about 5 minutes, I added chili pepper flakes and lime juice and let that cook through. I took it off the eye and topped it with minced cilantro. It was delicious!! I can’t take credit though. I found the recipe online.

I was well into my second day of no Prilosec but I think the shrimp dish was a bit much. I started to hurt pretty bad so I took a Prilosec. Getting better but still there.

Looking forward to my egg yolks tomorrow. Fingers crossed that I don’t have any issues!

Leave a Reply

