Post Whole30 – Day 1

When I started this journey, I did it for several reasons. My initial plan was just to eliminate those foods that came up as being allergens in my bloodwork so that I could figure out if any of them were my friend or foe. Then I heard about Whole30 and decided “what are a few more food groups?” The rest is all health related. I wanted to get rid of belly bloat and lose weight. To lose the brain fog and get rid of my aches and pains. But more than anything, I wanted to get rid of my exhaustion. I’m tired of being tired all the time. It’s a miserable feeling to wake up and not feel any more rested than I did when I went to bed.

Well here I am at the end of the 30 days and I have a lot of things to be thankful for and happy about. I’m down 9 lbs and 4 1/2″. I no longer have the belly bloat and most of my aches and pains are gone. My brain fog is improving and while I’m still exhausted, I feel like it may be a little bit better. One of the moderators of the Facebook page said that it can take a while for that to go away. I go to the doctor next week so I’ll see what she thinks.

Another good thing is that I have reduced the amount of Prilosec I’m having to take. It had gotten so bad that I was having to take a pill twice a day on most days. I also no longer crave sugar and have a whole new outlook on food and how I want to eat going forward. It was my blog last night that did that. Kind of an 11th hour revelation.

I’ll continue keeping up with my meals and any symptoms. I need to write it down so I won’t forget what I’ve eaten when I have any symptoms.

For breakfast today, I had bacon and egg yolks. It seemed kind of weird doing that but it was such a welcome change. Now I see if any symptoms come to light. So far, I’ve had a slight tummy issue but I had that yesterday. My stomach has been gurgling a lot but again, that could be carry over. I’ve also been really irritable today. I’ll probably give it a rest and try them again later to see what happens. For lunch I had leftover shrimp, peppers and onions but this time I put it over lettuce and added guacamole. It took some of the heat out and was pretty good. For supper we had steak, baked potatoes and I sauteed some kale for me.

I’m thinking about changing the name of this blog so stay tuned about that.

Leave a Reply

