Getting Back to Normal

I had scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast and may I say that it was wonderful! Who knew I would miss bacon and eggs so much? But it made me feel like I’m getting back to some sort of normalcy. The bacon did make my heartburn flare up though so I had to take one of my OTC Prilosecs. It’s another scenario though where I wonder if it was really the bacon or if it was just my body still adjusting from the lack of a PPI. Either way, I’m pretty happy I was able to go so long without it.

I meant to put some coconut sugar in my coffee this morning but I forgot. So I used some coconut oil in my salmon dish instead. I think I’ll still use the sugar tomorrow morning just to see. That will put me one step closer to being able to have even more dishes and condiments.

For lunch I had leftover sloppy joes, sweet potato fries and broccoli. The broccoli was crazy hot which is really weird since all it had on it was onion powder, salt and pepper. Surely pepper wouldn’t set my mouth on fire and break me out in a sweat but that’s the only thing it could have been. For supper I had salmon, mashed potatoes and roasted zucchini. I couldn’t find a new recipe for salmon that I had all the ingredients or one that had ingredients I could have. So I made my recipe up as I went. It was ok but I overcooked the salmon so it was dry. But I used coconut oil, lime juice, balsamic vinegar, cilantro and salt. I melted the coconut oil but in hindsight I think I should have left it solid so that I could brush it on but it would have melted quick enough so I guess it didn’t matter.

Anxious to get to the doctor tomorrow to discuss my MTHFR gene mutation and my diet changes. Also curious to hear what she thinks about my fatigue not being any better. Oh and Prilosec. I need to make some notes!

Leave a Reply

