Sticking To It

I’m tired of not being able to eat what I want, when I want it. I’m tired of going to restaurants and having to scour the menu for things I can eat aannd only being able to pick out a couple of possibilities. I’m discouraged by the thought that I will have to do these things for the rest of my life. I say that because I know me. I know that if I go back to what I was doing before and just try to cut back, I will end up where I always end up. Overweight and miserable. And just having a piece of cake every now and then wouldn’t work either because the sugar addiction is real.

That’s why I’m sticking to it. Because I don’t want to be overweight and miserable anymore. Because I want to live a long and healthy life. One where I can walk a short distance without getting out of breath. And while I’m looking at the menu, I’m psyching myself out for the delicious veggies I’m about to consume. I will miss fried okra and fried green tomatoes but I’ll figure a way where I can eat them again one day. The thing I will miss the most is my mom’s recipe for carrot cake. That’s what I always make myself for my birthday. But I’ll live. Because with the cake and fried okra and fried green tomatoes, I might not. Not for as long anyway.

So this was my pep talk to myself. I’ve been having a pity party because we’ve gone out to eat a couple of times and that’s the hardest part. So I am reminding myself why I’m doing this. I can do anything!

Breakfast today was bacon and boiled eggs again. They’re good and easy so I don’t mind. My husband took me to lunch for the first time since sometime in December and wouldn’t you know it. They only had cabbage and green beans. The same thing I had last night. I also had a side salad with greek dressing (all they had that was close to what I could have) and chicken kabobs. For supper we roasted, cabbage, zucchini, and potatoes and I made some bacon wrapped shrimp again. This time I found a marinade that had olive oil, lemon juice, paprika, thyme, salt and garlic. And this time we broiled them instead of grilling them. That way, they were still in some juice and didn’t dry out so bad. Yummy!

Looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow. Night all!

 

Leave a Reply

